Details

video

During the last couple of months, I was working my butt off, to prepare myself as best as I can for the big test. Except one thing, listening comprehension exercises. I thought that there is no need for it, and this is still the way I think about it. The only thing one can do for listening comprehension, is listening. Thanks to the wonderful people at NHK 高校講座 and their programme for highschool children, I also acquired skills in active listening, and answering questions after an episode of roughly 20 minutes. Not one of the listening sections on the test will be that long, so there shouldn’t be any problem on the real test to keep the information, without having to take notes. Which, for me, is rather distracting. Since there are only two days left, and little old me aiming to use the remaining time wisely, this is what I’m currently doing.

I watch videos, such as the one below, which is about the new rice harvested this year in Hokkaido. I watch and listen carefully, and I try to remember all the details that might be important. Facts such as the size of the field, the comparison between the size of the field and the Tokyo Dome, the brand-name of the rice, how long the farmer is in business, the temperatures of the water, which is too high, which is good, the weather condition, the days temperature, how the reporter felt when he was putting his hands in the water, and some other minor details. Minor details, such as the mood of the scene, who said what, that there were frogs to be heard in one scene, and so on.

Everything could be important, if this would be part of the real test. So listening closely, and being able to remember such details, is of utmost importance. And I think if I keep on doing the way I’m doing I should be fine. I just feel that I can pull it off, and so there is no need to be nervous or anything. On a side-note, the only thing I really was nervous about, was the lack of time I was writing about yesterday. And now I wish you fun watching the video. I hope, that you’ll be able to learn as much from watching it, as I did.

Leave a Reply

