The Big Day is Close

The last couple of days were full of stress for me. I had to buy some utensils for the big test this coming Sunday, book my train tickets, print out my voucher, access maps, subway maps, maps containing taxi stands in front of the train station, in short it was horrible. You would not think how difficult it is, to obtain all the information, to book two tickets for a train, and to find timetables for subways.

The last time I had to travel with a train was 20 years ago. So I had little need for booking any tickets, finding my platforms, and so on. The first thing I had to do was finding the closest target railway station in Vienna. There are about 7 in this city. Then I had to find a train with which I could make it to Vienna in time. On Sunday, there were only two, that I have taken into consideration. Meidling and Central. Central is closer to Brigittenau, my test-center. But by the time the train arrives, and getting to the center, I would have ran out of time.

This is why I had to decide on Meidling. A two hours train ride, and I would arrive at 8:16, leaving a time-window of 15 to 20 minutes. It shouldn’t take more than that, because the test starts at 9:00 o’clock. In the time between the start of the test I would have to pick up my real test-voucher from the office, and then find the room in which the test is held. This added a lot of pressure, no early train, and then such a short time-frame.

The next problem was the access to and from the train station to Meidling. With the time pressure in mind, I was looking for the best way to get there. Which means taxi or subway. At first I opted for the subway, but walking there and the uncertain waiting time, and not knowing how long it would take to arrive at the station I would have to get off, and how long the walking time from there would take, I made some calls.

Since the subway is no option, I decided to go with a taxi, and for now just book the tickets. Problem number 2. For an hour I was trying to book a ticket online. Always the same error message. After doing my research, I found out what the problem was. I was trying to book with online-banking. As new customer, all I can book are train tickets for 30€, and I had luck. Once this was sorted out, I just booked one ticket first class to Vienna, 156km, 28€. And in a second step a return ticket, 56€ 2nd class.

With all that out of the way, and having found someone who told me anything I need to know, I should have plenty of time, once I’m in Vienna. To tell you the truth, all the certainties, so close before the test, really got to me. But with all that out of the way, feeling well prepared for the test in general, the big day can come. But it could have come without all this last minute stress. For all those among you who are going to take the test on Sunday, no matter what level, Good luck! I keep my fingers and toes crossed for all of you, we’ll pass!

2 responses to “The Big Day is Close

  1. Wow, the test starts at 9 in the morning? That’s really early … In Stuttgart the first meeting as at about 12:45 and the test starts at 13:30. Plenty of time to get there in time, fortunately. You wrote, you would have to pick up your test voucher first? VHS Stuttgart sent it to me about 2 weeks ago … It seems they are a bit better organized … I don’t like stress at all and I’m glad, I can arrive at the testing site relaxed – hopefully I will 🙂

    I booked a hotel in Stuttgart although it’s only 2h away from Munich. Normally, the test is that late that I could have driven by car on Sonday morning but we (I and my GF) use the occasion to watch the musical Cats which is the day before the test. I hope we don’t get back too late …

    I wish you all the best for the test. I’ll cross my fingers and toes as well 🙂

    • Yes, from 9 until 12 or around 1 o’clock. Depending on whether or not there will be a break between the reading / grammar part and listening portion of the test. They didn’t say anything about it in the mail, but I do think there will be one.

      The thing with the voucher is, that I received a copy via mail, but without reg. number. This is why was told to come to the office to receive the original. I do hope that they take into consideration the fact, that not everyone is living in or around Vienna, and that they are waiting for late comers. And if they don’t, it can’t be helped … and with a little stress beforehand, sitting the test will be the relaxing, and a fun experience to make. 🙂

      Speaking of hotels. I was considering to stay overnight, before the test, and maybe some days for doing some sightseeing. But knowing my health condition, I decided against it, and to opt for the early morning train.

      I wish you all the best, and the both of you to have a great time in Stuttgart. 😀

Leave a Reply

