More Reading Resources

I grew up in the heyday of the home computer boom. One of the first systems my parents bought was a C-64. My cousin, she had an Atari 2600 console, we used to play when she was out of school, during the weekends, or generally when the weather was too bad to go outside. We didn’t sit there for hours to play away, as children use to do nowadays, we preferred to play outside with the children in our neighborhood. In the years between growing up and becoming an adult I collected a huge number of games, consoles from Nintendo, Sony, Sega, and also some portable systems, but also PCs. In recent years my wish to play died down considerably, and only since I started to learn Japanese I came back to this hobby. With the high number of games available, it is always difficult for me to decide to pick and choose one, and play away.

My solution is to read game reviews, as a sort of appetizer, which can sometimes be as much fun as to play the actual games. When I can’t decide which book I should read next I do the same. You can say what you want about Amazon, but the official reviews don’t give away much about a book, and not every book is browsable for contents. That said, and Amazon having been my “friend” as a source for reviews for the longest time, doesn’t necessarily follow that there aren’t any better websites. And one of the best ones I found so far is 千夜千冊 which I’d like to introduce to you today. One of the first things that sticks out about the reviews is the level of detail. The next thing is the length of most of the 1400+ volumes reviewed on this website. You will not only find a detailed introduction to the stories, but also things about the authors, events, and even more details and links to other resources. In short everything you could ever wish for is there.

Another resource I would like to introduce to you is Famitsu. This one might be familiar to many old-timers, but for those just starting out to learn Japanese, or are somewhere in the middle stages of learning, this website could be of interest. To sum it up, 無料. You can not only find free 漫画 and 小説, but also a large number of games to play for free on top of that. To read the freely available novels, you will have to click on the titles underneath the images, not Ebden or Amazon. And you will most likely have to download a plug-in, called comic-viewer, to be able to read both the Manga and the Novels.

I wish you fun with whatever resource you are going to decide to read first. Reading is power!

2 responses to “More Reading Resources

  1. Okay, so I think you’ve established that I will never run out of Japanese things to read, ever. (I had no idea about Famitsu! :O)

    • Welcome, and thank you for leaving a reply. Much appreciated!

      I do hope so! And if, by chance, you happen to run out of reading material, I have more in stock. 🙂

      Which reminds me that I should like to create a link list, who knows what else there is that someone in the depths of the Internet might find useful? 🙂

Leave a Reply

