Finale

The time for the big test draws closer and closer, and I think that my preparations for it start to bear fruit. The last months have been a marathon, working through book after book, huge vocabulary lists, listening and watching native Japanese media, working through various NHK courses, mostly about Art and related topics, swallowing the basics of Quantum mechanics, and various other things I think the big day can come. The last book to prepare myself for it was どんな時どう使う日本語表現文型, and I promised to release my material to aid those who own the 改訂版 (かいていばん) the revised edition of the book.

Anyone who owns the book is welcome to leave a comment with a picture, or some other proof of ownership, and the preferred file format. I offer the documents in both .pdf and .docx format either as a whole, or broken down into levels, meaning N③ N② N①. The documents will contain all the quizzes that can be found at the beginning and the end of each chapter. For the solution you will need the book anyway, the answers are not contained. I also thought about creating a sentence deck to become more familiar with Anki 2, as a sort of bonus for my readers, not sure about it right now. As far as decks go, you might as well just copy and paste the sentences, and build your own.

Coming from 新完全マスター, I think this book is far superior when it comes to quizzes, because you are asked to actually use what you’ve learned in a lesson. Most of the quizzes are simply asking you to choose between A and B, or to insert the correct grammar point. Those are the questions at the beginning of each lesson, but you can also find them in every other lesson in the review section. Another type of question is the so-called sentential grammar, you know the questions containing a star and four sentence parts, and you have to put them in order. The type of question I liked most were the dialogues, or short stories, and the ones requiring to rephrase a sentence with a different grammar point. Not one lesson out of the 30 was the same, except of course the presentation of grammar points, a very good book.

In a customer review about the book at Amazon.jp someone wrote that this book is for those at the N1 level. I can’t agree with the reviewer. Maybe I misjudge my own level of passive abilities, but it is sure to assume that I am not at an N1 level, and probably wouldn’t pass it, so you should be save to work with the book at around N2 level. If you’ve been working through decks such as KO.2001, CORE2000/6000, you should have no trouble with vocabulary. Most words are written with the reading above the characters, and the unknown words should be few. In short, you should not jump into the book, or use it as an only source for learning to prepare for the JLPT. You wouldn’t have much fun working with the book if you can’t read Japanese at a reasonable speed at any of the target levels, or if you have to constantly look up words, sentence parts, or grammar information in other reference books. In that case you should use it as reference, and source for Japanese sentences for a deck.

From now until the big test I will stop learning anything from books. Instead I watch media, keep working through NHK courses, currently 地理 (ちり) geography at high school level, and some of the others, work on my speech and pronunciation, keep listening to FM西東京 which I highly value for their talk shows and classic 40’s to 60’s music and the relaxed hosts, easy to follow and just pure fun, and other than that there are some topics I am deeply interested in.

All the activities have nothing to do with the JLPT, but some could be useful for it, the NHK courses for instance. Most of all of the courses contain a question section, and after watching a course of 20:00 minutes, I do the quizzes. They contain 3 questions at most about the content of the videos. At first I thought I take notes, but I soon saw that it is better to just listen and watch carefully, and then answer them. The outcome was very positive, not only did I remember and could answer the questions correctly, but I also remembered more than from taking notes of random facts that I thought could be important. This should help in the N2 listening portion of the test.

Before going back to my NHK course, here is something for beginners, a list of courses and resources all around the ワルドスリー. This is not my own list, and I forgot where I actually found it, but I can guarantee you that there is something for everyone, and many I used in the past couple of months. Resource List

Leave a Reply

