Time

There are times when I ask myself this question. How old would I have to become, to be able to see it all and do it all? Through media, and Japanese blogs, I learned about many places that i’d love to visit, things I would want to try out, and places I want to enjoy hanging out with the townsfolk. Old people in particular, because they can be very patient, so I can learn a thing or two from them. For my trip next year, I need to decide on only a handful of places to stay and some activities, which I am very bad at. Japan is full of interesting places, for instance a cat town, that I think it would take at least 200 years, until I get to see even a fraction of everything the country has to offer.

To be able to visit the far off places, not accessible via bus or train, the first thing I will apply for is a driving permit. Unlike other countries citizens who have to take a lengthy theoretical and practical test, I will only have to answer 10 questions correctly to get the license. Lucky! Though, knowing how badly we use to drive in my country, I wonder if it wouldn’t be better for Japan to change their regulation, and apply the same rules for my country to acquire a license. But this is just me. I don’t suspect that there are that many people from country who happen to stay in Japan and holding a driver’s license. Which is just a theory for the reason why the 10 questions are enough for my country, without the Japanese officials having to worry too much that someones going to apply, and causing accidents for the sole reason that they are bad drivers.

For me it means more freedom. If my orientation skills are high enough for the adventure of driving from point A to point B, and actually reach the destination of choice without taking hundreds of de-tours, I should be fine. Orientation is not my forte, and there is proof enough for it. Think of an adventure where a group of people is brought to a far-off place, left alone with some food and water, and their task is to reach a city without starving to death, or dying on the way. All this in no more than 2 weeks. Left on my own, I guess it would have taken months, but with my partner we got back save and alive, in only 1 week and 3 days. Then again, back in the day there was no such thing as navigation software, satellite tracking, or other electronic tools to help. So the chances should be high enough for to find my way around without getting utterly lost.

As far as my plans are concerned, the above mentioned cat town is one of the items on my list, so how about learning something about this and some other places by watching the following video together?

3 responses to “Time

  1. Haha, cute video.

    Only 10 questions?? Huh!

    • I totally forgot it in my other reply, so thank for reminding me of that video in my post. This was obviously not the one about cat town. I replaced it with the correct one now. It was fun to watch all episodes (around 100) of 多摩探検隊. I learned many new things from them, even though I just watched the episodes just for fun. Coming to think of it, the quality is impressive, taking into consideration that this is created solely by students. 🙂

  2. Yes, only 10 questions if at all. Having read how difficult it is to get a license in Japan, check out this website or this blog describing the difficulty of obtaining a license, I consider myself lucky.

    I guess others coming from one of these countries must feel the same.

    Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, The Netherlands, The United Kingdom, Australia, New Zealand, Canada, Taiwan and South Korea.

    They don’t have to take the test either.

Leave a Reply

