1 Down 3 To Go

I made it! Another book of the 日本語総まとめ2級 series is history, the reading one. A fun book to learn with. I enjoyed the way it presented the reading material, and I was able to learn quite a bit from it, so it was a good investment. The reading passages are solely written in Japanese, with only a few explanations and words here and there, translated into English. This means that I now have even more time to enjoy with so called ‘real Japanese.’ Judging from how far I made it already, and how comparably easy reading has become now, I have little to worry about the JLPT. Grammar, however, is a different story, which will take a bit longer. Currently I am reading and trying to apply what I am learning in my Dictionary of Intermediate Japanese Grammar. That is, as long it’s no outdated grammar or is considered as such. In other words grammar I can’t find being used in the wild by Japanese people on blogs, or in real life conversations.

With so much more time at hand now, I wonder what I am going to do with it? 2 hours learning, 4 hours of reading, playing games, watching Anime, programming, and I still feel I could do so much more … but in a positive way. The only thing I know for sure right now is that I will take a break of at least four months once I finished all my にほんご総まとめ2級 books. Knowing that I work better with a certain pressure, I will then continue to learn with my 新完全マスター books, and then eventually the 実力アップー one’s. By the time of the test I will be well prepared, from all the other activities during my study break. Knowing myself better, I don’t really think that I will be able to take such a long break from learning, but it is worth the try.

Experiencing the language is more important than learning, right? Whatever I will do, or not do in the next couple of months, you can be sure that I will write about it here, and let you guys out there know about it. Before I end this article, here is something for the beginners among my readers. It is the website of a Japanese woman magazine which might come in handy for two reasons. If you are looking for a resource to mine sentences from, you can use it because the short dialogues are presented in both English and Japanese. The lessons presented are made for Japanese readers who wish to learn English. And this is the second reason why this is a good resource to learn from. You will not only have translations for the dialogues, but you also get Japanese explanations on the usage of sentences and how they are alike or different in Japanese. So it might also be something for the more advanced learners. Make the best use of it!

(^^♪

Leave a Reply

