[JLPT 2] Day 1 [1]

Even though I was planning to begin learning for the JLPT yesterday, I decided to give myself another day to rest and recover, because I really didn’t feel that good. This was a good decision, and just what I needed. Instead of learning I was playing some SNES games, one of them Earthbound, and the other 赤ずきんチャチャ, to do at least something in Japanese besides reading. Besides that I was also signing myself up for the J-Test, which I plan to take this coming weekend. It is a good idea to know what my strenghts and weaknesses are, and what I have to work on in order to improve in the coming months. But enough of what I did yesterday! Today, after a good nights rest and feeling much better, I finally started learning with the 日本語総まとめ books.

Initially I thought that it would take at least 2 hours to work through each days lesson of all 5 books. Actually it takes no more than 1 hour and 23 minutes, including doing the exercises, to finish this days lessons. This was quite a surprise. Entering the information into Anki took another 2,5 hours which was less of a surprise. I bet that I will get faster once I have more data to copy and paste information.

So far I like how the books are organized, the drawings, and the amount of information to learn each day. It’s just right. I don’t know which book I like most, maybe the grammar one, because it introduces the grammar point, and in the example sentence it gives a simple explanation for it. I also like looking up information for them in my Dictionaries of Japanese Grammar. The second place goes to the Kanji book, and the third is reserved for the Vocabulary one.

What I don’t like is the CD belonging to the listening book. It sounds like the speakers are computerized voices, at least the female one sounds unnatural to me, which makes it hard to understand what has been said. This, in turn, makes it difficult to solve the exercises correctly. I was only able to solve part 2 of the first day, worth 5 questions, and have everything correct. Exercise 1, which asks to write little つ and ッ between words, was a total failure. The third exercise, in which I was supposed to write words spoken twice in Hiragana, was also a total failure. I only got one word right, out of around 12 questions in both exercise one and three. I hope this will get better, else I just skip this book, not worth wasting time on it in case it doesn’t work.

The exercises in the other four books were no problem, I got almost all of them correct, with 4 failures out of maybe 35 questions in grammar, vocabulary and kanji. Reading was so / so, but it was no problem to correctly answer the questions, once I understood what was asked for. All in all it was a successful day, and I hope it stays this way, until I am done with the books. (^^♪

Leave a Reply

