JLPT 2 – Day 1

My “holiday” is officially over. It was a fun week for the most part. I was watching Anime and reading ナルニア物語 most of the time. If only … I wouldn’t have caught a cold, which was causing fever and headaches, it would have been a perfect week. But, unfortunately, this is what happened on friday. I got sick, and the other day I had fever and headaches. I missed two days of reviews … But, luckily, I only had some 400 cards waiting for review when I felt a bit better to do them on sunday. It still took a long time to get them done, and I even read part of chapter 8 in my book. I am still not fully recovered, and I don’t feel like sitting up front my PC to start learning, so I am writing an article on here.

Last week I was not only watching and reading, but also finalizing my strategy for working with the books, and how to set-up my Anki decks. And this is what I am going to write about today. I will study Kanji with the 総まとめ Kanji book first. For this book I decided to create one deck with 2 deck models. One for Kanji and the 音読み / 訓読み reading, and the other for vocabulary and sentences containing the Kanji. Next I will work with the 語彙 book, and a deck with 2 deck models, one containing vocabulary the other sentences. After that I will work with my grammar book, for which I will only use one deck model, containing 3 fields for grammar, for notes, and for sentences of course. This leaves two books for reading and listening comprehension, for which I will create a vocabulary and sentence deck. I will also create another deck for vocabulary from all the books that doesn’t belong to the actual lesson.

Here comes the price question, how many decks am I going to create? 5? 6? 4? No, exactly 2! Even though I was writing that I would create decks for each book, what I am really doing is to create deck models, inside one deck. This allows me to copy information from one model to the other if I want to have the information on another card, to check that there are no unnecessary overlaps, to make it easier for me to type in all the information, and finally to be able to quickly review without switching from one deck to the next. It was not clear to me whether or not to go with five decks, one for each, or only one. The only real difference with one deck is the use of tags to choose what to review and when, meaning to disable and enable Kanji → Vocabulary → Grammar → Reading / Listening. This is the order in which I am going to work with the books, and this is the order in which I will review my deck. The most important thing to aim for is keep it simple and don’t overload the cards with information. Too much information and too many items to learn will slow me down, and I would have a hard time to remember all the information during reviews.

If it becomes apparent that I can’t work with all the books every day, I will probably have to use plan B, and alternate between Kanji -> Vocabulary -> Grammar, Reading and Listening. One day for Kanji, one day for Vocabulary, one day for Grammar and one day for Reading and Listening. The consequence of having to learn like this could have a negative impact, though. Each book contains one big test for day 7 of the week. As it is a good idea doing these problem questions, as well as those for each day, involves answering up to 25 questions for Vocabulary, 25 for Grammar, 24 for Kanji, roughly 21 for Vocabulary, 4 for reading and finally 5 sections with 2 questions for listening comprehension, it is better to do them on one single day, and then move on to the next weeks lesson. Else I would really mess up, because while I have to do the tests for say listening, I already have to learn Grammar, Reading, Vocabulary, Kanji for the next week. This is not going to work very well. The other option would be to say I am going to take the JLPT in december next year, not knowing whats going to happen from now until then, and do each book in order and immerse myself more instead. Meaning 8 weeks times 4 plus 6 weeks times 1 and 1 week times 1 coming down to roughly ten months for all the books. Leaving little time to work on strenghts and weaknesses.

This is why I am going to try hard to stick to my original plan, working with each book every day, for 2 hours plus the time it takes to enter data into Anki, and work on the problems. My review strategy is to review at the end of each day, and the second time in a selective study session, kanji before, vocabulary, etc. before I begin with a new lesson. Yes, it will be incredibly hard, yes, I will drown in reviews, but nothing gets you nothing, everything has got a little price. [i]Quote: Les Misérables[/i] What it comes down to is that I will beat this intensive 8 weeks course, with two accomplishements on the way. Finishing the Listening book in a month, and the Reading book in 1 month and 2 weeks.

Normally I would finish this entry by saying something like “Now is the time to start learning, see you later,” but not today. Because I really can’t and when I get up from bed, I feel dizzy and my head hurts, so I will have to start tomorrow. Or maybe later today, but definitely not right now …

2 responses to “JLPT 2 – Day 1

  1. I hate getting sick, it happened to me on saturday at work and I didn’t like it one bit! I came home with a running nose but now it seems like I’m back to normal. Worst time too, since I got FF13-2 recently. Then again, my learning/immersion is still there, even when I get sick lol

  2. Who doesn’t? Glad to hear that you have recovered, and that you had at least some fun, playing the game. 🙂

    I hope that some day a genius scientist invents a cure for the common flu, so that it will take only 7 days instead of one week to fully recovery from it. Until then it can’t be helped and we will have to make the best of it! 😉

Leave a Reply

