The Road to 日本語能力試験2級

Today, I finally received my books with which I am going to prepare myself for the JLPT 2級 which I am planning to take next year. And not a moment too soon. Before I start learning with any of the following books,

実アップN2 文のルール (文字、語彙、文の文法)
実アップN2 聞く (聴解)
新完全マスタN2 (文法)
新完全マスタN2 (読解)
日本語総まとめN2 (all books)

日本語500問
どんな時使う日本語表現文型500

I have to solve some major problems.

I do not know whether or not I will use all of those books to actually prepare myself for the N2. Most of them are laid out as a 6 weeks course, with a set of exercises and problem questions, so time-wise I should have little trouble to get them done. The time consuming part will be to get all this material into Anki and to memorize all this stuff. This is a tough challenge, maybe my toughest yet. Ultimately what it comes down to is to memorize another couple of thousand words, hundreds of grammar points, the usage of words and grammar in sentences, noticing mistakes, etc.

It is not only a question which book series I am going to use. It is a question of the material to learn, and what goes together with what, so I can save time learning it. Of course, grammar and sentences form a great pair, so do sentences and vocabulary. This means that I have to create an even better deck structure than the one I created for KO.

The best deck structure would allow me to keep all the information in one deck. With this deck I could then reinforce both grammar and vocabulary through sentences. But … How could a template look like, that contains the necessary fields and deck models, without risking to overload the cards with information, and allowing me to input the information with as little time needed as possible?

The answer could be to create 3 basic deck models.

Grammar
– Expression
– Reading
– Meaning
– Translation
– Conjugation Patterns
– Notes

Sentences
– Expression
– Reading
– Meaning
– Grammar
– Particles
– Notes

Vocabulary
– Expression
– Reading
– Meaning
– Translation
– Notes

Many of the fields will be present on all cards, while some will only be on some of them, which means that I have to be careful which to use and where. If all goes well, I can input vocabulary, the grammar information, and the sentences plus additional notes from one master template, and three cards will be created. One that contains the grammar information and grammar notes, the other containing vocabulary, monolingual information, and eventually translations, and the third will be the sentence card that contains grammar information, particle information, and cross reference to other sources.

This probably sounds more complicated than it really is or will be, but once I have come up with something that works, I will post some shots of it. The only thing that is certain is, that I will not spread it all out to three separate decks, this would only cause overlaps, and time to spend on micro managing potential overlaps which is a real time killer. While working on finishing An Integrated Approach to Intermediate Japanese, still 7 chapters ahead of me, I will work on that deck structure. Because a good deck structure is almost a guarantee for success.

And while working on finishing AIAIJ, I will also have enough experience with SRS’ing grammar, to use it even more effectively with 日本語総まとめ series, which is the most likely candidate I am going to prepare myself for the N2. And I will use this series only because I like the pictures on the cover. j/k. The other books I am going to use in the meantime are 日本語500問 and どんな時.

From the beginning of next week, I will start to work on it, to challenge the N2 in July. 7 months of blood, tears, sorrow, bent over my books, in front of my PC, hundreds of hours of learning thousands of new words, grammar, sentence structures. It will be hell, but, at the end of this road I will have aced the N2. I got what it takes, and I will get all 90s on my score sheet, I promise you that! *狂ったように笑う*

Leave a Reply

