Books

Reading is my life, i love it, and I couldn’t live a single day without reading something. This can be a book, a forum, articles on websites, other blogs, some learning resources and other things. Today I will introduce you to material that I am reading in Japanese.

English Japanese The Student Dictionary of European Modern History
This book is full of short articles about European history. This is great! You can open up any page, look at the headline, and start to read whatever you find interesting. Here is a sample article from the book.

Ypres, Battle of(1914, 1915, 1917) イーペルの戦い
第1次世界大戦 (World War I) 中、ベルギーの都市イーペルにおけるドイツ軍とフランス軍との会戦。1915年4月~5月の会戦では毒ガスが使用された。イーペルはドイツと連合軍とのたび重なる激戦地となった。17年の第3次会戦はパッセンダーリの戦い(Passchendaele, Battle of)と呼ばれる。

Ypres, Battle of(1914, 1915, 1917) Battle of Ypres
During World War I, the German armed forces and the French military engaged in a battle in a Belgian city called Ypres. Between April and May 1915 poisonous gas was used in the battle. Ypres became a repeated site of bloody battles between the Allied Forces and Germany. The third battle in 1917 was called Battle of Passchendaele.

The translation is my own work, and any errors are my own, not the authors of the book. The book doesn’t contain translations. Other books in the English Japanese Student Dictionary series are covering Mathematics, Biology, American History and Physics. All of them are great in giving you a chance to learn something new, reinforce vocabulary you already learned, as well as learning in general. So if you have money to spare you should get the books.

7 responses to “Books

  1. I checked this book on amazon, howcome it’s so expensive (approx 6000 yen) ? Where did you get yours?

  2. ようこそ!

    I bought this one together with some other books from an import shop located in Germany. I received a rebate for my bulk-order, but it was still expensive enough. What makes this book, or learning books in general, so expensive? Don’t ask me. This is one of the cheaper ones out there compared to others, The Cambridge History of Japan for example. One book alone costs about 200€, and the whole series of 7 books cost almost 800€. I have even seen e-books being sold over at Amazon, about linguistics, which were on sale for 490€. Even the paperback cost far than that. Would you believe it?

    But back to the dictionary you were asking about. I can say that this book is worth its price, because it is full of information, about a wide range of historical events, people, and facts related to European history. I learn something new from it all the time, and I can say that I have learned quite a bit about European history in the past. What I am not saying is that I didn’t wish it could have been cheaper but I got more than enough in return for my money.

  3. Thanks for the info! I know you can’t really put a price on learning a language (especially if you’re really getting something out of it), but still, EUR 60,- something for some history book is quite expensive in my ‘book’, hah. Maybe because I already have to history books in Japanese (aimed at high school students). Nevertheless, I do like the fact that, what you say, the book is full of short articles, although I like reading, reading long passages in any language is a drag. Do you think there’s any way of seeing what’s in the book? (picture?).

  4. I am of the conviction that knowledge should be freely accesible for people who cannot afford to buy books. And, thanks to the Internet, they can. As far as I am concerned, I buy it, because I think the authors deserve to see money for their work. For instance, the book about Grammar, written by Michiel Kamermans. There is a free version, and yet I decided to buy the physical copy, to support him. I am not saying, that I am not occasionally downloading e-books related to learning in general, because this would be a lie. However, it is better to spend 60€ for books, to do something for ones own education, than to waste money for alcohol.

    Here is a sample scan from one of the pages of the books. It was a good occasion to dust off my scanner. I hope that it is readable. *笑顔*

  5. I’m also for buying books (I collect books!), just EUR 60,- is a bit steep. Thanks for the scan btw! Is the book written in a dictionary style way? Or are there pictures/photos included? (sorry for asking so many things about the book, but I am interested though I want to make sure I want this book and know what I get before I decide to buy it 🙂 )

  6. You are welcome to ask any number of questions that are on your mind, and I will give my best to answer them as good as I can.

    There are eight illustrations in the back of the book. One is presenting European frontiers from 1919 to 1937, another battlefields and alliances during World War 1. Further back in the book, there are maps of Europe, Afrika, China, and other countries as well. 7 in total.

    Other than that, there are only entries such as those you already saw, and lots of cross-references to other entries within the book. Some entries are rather long, filling almost a whole page, and others are hardly 2 lines in length.

    Before deciding on buying this book, you should be in the clear, that it is really only a supplement to refer to, while reading real books or websites about history. Since the headlines for each entry are both in English and Japanese, one could very well read an English book about history, while consulting the dictionary. Japanese books would be better of course.

    If you are looking for a very accurate dictionary about history, this is a good choice, even though a bit pricy. 🙂

  7. Thanks for the extensive insight and giving me a clear view of what this book is about. I’m all about pictures, so thats why I was asking. Neverthelss, I’ve added it to my wish list hah.
    Anyways, always love to hear about good books, keep em coming 🙂

Leave a Reply

