Cheat

If someone cheats in an Online-Game, or any game at all, that person is in for trouble when the other players find out about it. There are also cheats you can apply when you are learning a language, and sometimes these cheats can make your life a lot easier. As I am going through KO.2001, I try to remember the correct readings, but I doesn’t always work. This is why I cheat!

When I have a sentence or vocabulary card with a word, and I can’t seem to remember the correct reading, I copy and paste it into a website. Since I use Rikaisama and an EPwing dictionary that is Japanese – Japanese, I am able to see the correct reading for the word. When I know the reading after looking it up, but don’t know or remember what it was in English, this card is failed. If I get the meaning in English right, and know what the sentence means, its hard and I press 1.

I am the type of person who wants to get everything correct, so my rating for cards is sometimes stricter than it probably has to be. This cheat helps, because it takes a lot of pressure out of my reviews, allowing me to move on and ignore that I haven’t gotten it right without it. I would even go so far as to say that there is no way around using this cheat, when the goal is to memorize a large list of words in a relatively short time. It doesn’t hurt to fail cards, and get them back into the cycle, after relearning them. I do this all the time as well. But the need to fail cards is getting less and less.

If you decide to use this cheat, keep in mind that you should not use it all the time just because you don’t remember a reading or translation. Fail the card instead. If you decide to use it all the time, it will hurt you in the long run, so use it sparingly! By reading, listening to podcasts, watching tons of Anime or Drama episodes etc. with Japanese subs, and using the words in conversation as often as you can, will help you more than a cheat. But if you use it sparingly during your review sessions you should be fine, and you have no reason to worry about harming yourself.

Leave a Reply

