Anki Card Scheduling

Sometimes there are problems that really exist. Sometimes, the problems are the product of one’s own actions, but there is always also a solution. Currently having to deal with the heat is a problem. Dealing with Anki Schedules is a problem that can be solved with a few clicks of a mouse-button. And today I will talk about a solution for dealing with high numbers of cards.

Before starting to work with Kanji Odyssey my decks and deck models changed. This made a more structured approach for adding cards and micro-managing the review process possible. When I want to review only vocabulary in a session, I select Change which can be found in the New Cards tab, and activate the deck model. This option is useful to use because my deck contains sentences and vocabulary cards. When I can assume that there are high numbers of difficult words in sentences, the vocabulary cards have more priority than the sentence cards. By activating and deactivating the models, reviewing of sentences becomes easier, and the retention rate of those hard words will increase. The reason is that cards containing difficult words, or sentences rated as being hard containing such words, will always be close together. So you can expect that if you have a hard card in your vocabulary model, you will also have this card rated hard, in your sentence deck. This makes it likely that both cards will be due for reviews closely together.

What I haven’t done yet, and what this article is all about, is to schedule my reviews and the adding of cards. My usual approach from the beginning of the life of the deck until now was looking like this.

+ Add 150 to 200 cards
+ Wait some hours
+ Review the new cards and the cards due

In the beginning this was easy, but almost 20 or 21 days later, I have to face 200 to 300 cards per session. This is due to the increasing number of cards I am able to add now as opposed to before. And it became obvious that having reviews due every 24 hours, and adding a large number of cards in between, will make it impossible to get anything done in the long run. This problem was countered by not adding any cards for one or two days so the number of cards can die down. This was inefficient to say the least. And this is the solution, allowing me to both add high numbers of cards, without having to delay adding new cards.

There is an option in Anki which can be found in the Advanced tab of your deck properties called Per-day scheduling and it is checked per default. This option needs to be unchecked in order to allow reviewing cards when they are due. This was my first change. I then opened the card browser, entered the number of all cards and when the time they are due into Excel, to get an idea of what numbers I have to deal with.

Looking at the figures above, you can see that my next review is in 3 hours, and 79 cards will be due until then. 191 in all spread out over 24 hours. The next day 185 cards will be due, and the day after tomorrow 135 cards. At my first review today I will have 79 cards, and the rest is spread out and the numbers are very small. Once the 79 cards are out of my way, I will start adding new cards, and review some due cards in between. When I then review the cards added today, the numbers of cards is high, but not as high as with the old scheduling method.

What I don’t know yet is how the numbers of cards due in 1 day will look like and how they are spread out. What I mean is this. You can see that 180 cards are due tomorrow. If I add 150 or 200 today, passing some hours in between, how will this affect the spreading process of the upcoming numbers of cards already in my deck. What I expect to happen is that the new cards are due in 1 to 24 after initial review. And I can only hope that the cards due in 24 hours will be equally spread out, and not 24 hours are over, here are your 180 cards, have fun. I will have to pay attention to this to be able to adjust the schedule of adding and reviewing cards accordingly.

Within the next couple of days I will know more and write another article about this. Until then, dear reader.

Leave a Reply

