Future plans

As per request from Tori, I will not only write about my future plans in this article, but also how I intend to work with the material I already have, or will have in the future.

Step 1
I already decided to start with Kanji in Context after finishing An Integrated Approach to Intermediate Japanese. The book contains approximately 8500 words, and it teaches them in Context with the Workbooks. The book is divided into 6 Levels and broken down into smaller chapters per Level. Every chapter contains about up to 48 Kanji, their 音読み and 訓読み readings, and several words to be memorized.

The main reason for doing this next is because the process is very similar to RTK. And i found it very relaxing doing this day by day, writing stories, learning new Kanji, and so forth. I intend to learn at least 2 chapters each day. This means that I will learn at least 400 words per session. It is very ambitious, considering the amount of reviews to follow, but i will try and see how far it gets me. I will write each word down once I first learn them, and at the end of the session I will add the words to Anki. On the weekends i will most likely only do reviews, or work on the sentences, in the workbooks. Not sure about that yet.

Step 2
Reading, reading, reading. Since i will have more time while doing Kanji in Context, i will also start to read more native material such as websites and books. I will do this also just for gaining more vocabulary to work with.

Step 3
Next there will be some textbooks waiting for me to work with. One of them is Authentic Japanese: Progressing from Intermediate to Advanced. I already have this book. And after that i will only work with native material, skip English altogether, and work on JLPT preparation.

Step 4
Taking JLPT N1 next year. I thought of preparing and taking for N3 this year. But seeing that it will only get me so far, and there is no way I can do it in my own country, i will devote my time to learn for N1, and take it next year in London. I’m really looking forward to that i must say. It has been a long time since i’ve last been there. I should clarify that I’m not really expecting to take N1 next year but the JLPT in general. And i had better written to learn upon N1, instead of taking it, as i did when I first wrote this article.

There are no plans other than that, i can currently think of. But this is enough for quite some time to keep me busy. I am always open for suggestions, so if you have any, let me know.

Leave a Reply

