Progress

やっと一昨日「げんき2」の教科書を読み終りました!!「げんき2練習帳」も終えました!この教科書はとても分かりやすくて面白いです。二ヶ月ぐらいかかりました。とても嬉しいことがありました!

The day before yesterday, i was able to finish reading and working through げんき2 and the Workbook. This book is interesting and very easy to understand. It took about two month to finish it. To be able to finish it made me very happy! I still have to add all the grammar points of the last four chapters of the book to Evernote. Once this is done, i will work through all the chapters of the book a second time, before i move on to An Integrated Approach to Intermediate Japanese.

Yesterday i got curious and started listening to one of the dialogues belonging to this book. The speakers are really talking very fast! Even though they were talking so fast, i was able to understand everything, and i was able to read along and speak along very well! I didn’t expect this would be the case. I always thought it would be hard to follow and understand a conversation at native speed. Especially when it comes to reading and speaking along longer sentences. But as it turns out, the fast speed in which the actors are talking really helps! In げんき 2 i have had more trouble speaking longer lines out aloud, during the breaks which are there to allow to practice speaking. The longer sentences in particular were hard to finish for me, before the actors began repeating the next line. There was no problem shadowing the text, that is, speaking along with the actors, while they were saying them.

I really feel that i have made some progress in learning Japanese in the last two months. Today i have noticed some of the progress i was able to made. Before starting on adding some of the missing grammar points to Evernote, i decided to let 黒澤 明 (くろさわあきら) Kurosawa Akira wonderful movie 乱 (らん) RAN play in the background on my PCs media player, in Japanese. While copying and pasting passages of text from Word to Evernote, i was quite shocked when i noticed, that i really understood some lines of text, the actors were saying. For instance in the beginning of the movie, Hidetora Ichimonji and his sons are sitting in the grass, and Kyoami the jester of Lord Ichimonji starts acting. I was able to fully understand what has been said! Also i was able to understand some of the sentences spoken during the movie. This gave me a real boost in motivation, making me want to study even harder!

To understand this movie in full length is a good short term goal i decided to set for myself. Another is to be able to read 世界の終りとハードボイルド・ワンダーランド a book from 村上 春樹 (むらかみ・はるき) Murakami Haruki. Both will take time to reach, but i will give my all! And i hope that you, dear Reader, will continue to follow my progress until i reach my ultimate goal, which is being able to fluently speak, read, and understand this beautiful language called 日本語 or Japanese.

3 responses to “Progress

  1. I’m glad to hear you made such big progress, Nagareboshi! The same happened to me, just with vocabulary (something like ~2500 right now).
    I hope to be able to increase my listening comprehension by subs2srs of one drama movie and a drama series after finishing core2k tomorrow (?).

    I would be glad to receive Genki 2 somehow during the next week 🙂

    Still couldn’t get a copy of “An Integrated Approach to Intermediate Japanese” 😦

    Regards, genieße das Wetter 🙂
    Tori-senpai

    • Hello Tori, thank you for your comment!

      I have already sent you a mail containing all the information you need.

      The weather has been really lovely today! And i have been enjoying it.
      I consider buying a laptop with good anti-glare display, to be able to work
      on my balcony or outside my house. My old Laptops aren’t able to handle
      Windows 7, and are too slow, so it’s really time to get a new one. 🙂

      Regards
      流れ星

  2. 日本語の美しさ、 素晴らしさに 段々引き込まれてきましたね!

Leave a Reply

