My own book

If there is one thing in this world i love more than anything else it is reading books. The first book i was able to read, was written by Rolf Kalmuczak a.k.a Stefan Wolf, called T.K.K.G. I was four years old at the time. Once i was able to read all by myself, my parents bought a new book every other week, which i read in a matter of days. 120 pages were like nothing for me.

At the age of 6 i was expressing the wish to have my own typewriter. Some days later, my father came home, with a really ancient thing. I don’t know where he got it from, but i had to hammer on the keys, to be able to type anything. And it was heavy! So he brought it back, and bought a smaller model, which was more to my liking. My plan was to write my own stories. Having had a strong fantasy for as long as i can think, i was able to invent some short stories, no longer than 2 A4 pages, but it was enough for me. And my parents were very proud of me. Thanks mum, and dad, for being so supportive when i was young, I love you.

Years later i often had the idea to write books. I never came around actually writing any. The idea to write my own books resurfaced soon after I started learning the 漢字. This time, however, i mean it! I have already written the Preface, drew a picture of the main character whose name is みき, a title that remains yet a secret, and i have begun writing the first chapter. The aim of my book will be to teach all 2,136 常用漢字 (じょうようかんじ) Jōyō-Kanji. My wish is to compose the chapters in such a way, that my future readers have something to enjoy, and don’t even notice that they are learning. To be able to achieve this, i started reading a book called Creative Writing, written by David Morley. What he has to say about this subject really inspires me, and gives me some good ideas, how my book should be like. Here is an excerpt of the chapter Introducing creative writing.

Stories, like dreams, have a way of taking care of people, by preparing them, teaching them. I argue that, although there is an inherent simplicity to this, it is not simple as a practice. With dreams come responsibilities, and the created worlds of a book require a vocation of trust between the writer and reader. It is that vocation, how we create ourselves as writers – never forgetting that we are also readers – that is the subject of the final part of this chapter. We will none of us become a good writer unless we become a great reader, of more matter than just books. We must also learn to become shapers of language and, in that way, shapers of the small, new worlds that take the form of poems or novels, each of them a piece of fresh space-time, remembering itself.

With what i learn from his book, and the inspiration i am able to draw from the many books i read all the time, i hope to achieve my goal. And by letting you know about my plan, it gives me a good reason to pull this through. It would be a shame if, one day, i would have to confess – I had a great plan of writing the book, you will remember it was about 漢字 learning, here is the link. But i gave up because i lost interest, and there are so many books out there that teaches them, so i didn’t feel much like doing it. It will take some months, or maybe a year, because learning Japanese is my top priority right now. But I work on the book, and it will see the light of day. Be my witness, dear reader.

Leave a Reply

